Connecticut Law Quiz Explanations





1.   A 30-hour course in Appraisals is required.


Back to Question 1          Question 2














2.   $125,000. The $75,000 Homestead Exemption applies only to general, non-consensual liens, such as attachments from the lawsuits of general creditor. If you agree to have the lien placed against your property, as in giving the bank a mortgage, there is no exemption against the collection of that debt.


Back to Question 2          Question 3














3.   None of the above. The widow’s election entitles here to elect EITHER to receive whatever she receives in the will (which here is nothing) OR a life use of one-third of the assets of Bob’s estate.


Back to Question 3          Question 4














4.   A mortgage release is normally recorded in Connecticut.  Connecticut does not have land contracts.  Listing contracts are not recorded.


Back to Question 4          Question 5














5.   Each own a share with rights of survivorship in the other shares.  This is true for all joint tenancies. A is untrue in Connecticut, but it is the general national rule. B is untrue. D is untrue.


Back to Question 5          Question 6















6.   $1,387.50.  The municipality’s conveyance tax is always 0.0011 times the price (or $1.1 per $1,000 of sales price.) The state’s tax for residential property is 0.005 times sale price (or $5 per thousand dollars of sales price) up to $800,000 and $0.01 times sales price (or $10 per thousand dollars of sales price) for values above $800,000.  However, for commercial properties, the state’s rate is always 0.01 times the sales price.  So, Rate = 0.0011 + 0.01 = 0.0111. Conveyance tax = 0.0111 X $125,000 = $1,387.50


Back to Question 6          Question 7

















7.   $75,000.  This is due to the Homestead Exemption.


Back to Question 7          Question 8























8.   None of the above. It is funded by $20 from initial applicants, $3 from license renewals, and licensee fines & penalties (not home inspectors.)


Back to Question 8          Question 9






















9.   A maximum of $25,000 per single transaction


Back to Question 9          Question 10





















10. You can’t discriminate in Connecticut on the basis of lawful SOURCE of income.  You can discriminate on the basis of insufficient AMOUNT of income.  Perhaps Chucky is an extremely wealthy beneficiary of a trust until he is age 50.  He doesn’t want anyone to know about it.  He doesn’t have to tell anyone, either. Edna could have refused if Chucky has insufficient funds, but that was all.


Back to Question 10          Question 11






















11. Must be foreclosed upon within one year of the date work ceased


Back to Question 11          Question 12





















12. $28.  $13 total for the first page, and $5 per page thereafter.


Back to Question 12          Question 13






















13. John IS a dual agent, so B is NOT true and therefore the correct answer.  Despite the appointments, the broker is still responsible as a dual agent.


Back to Question 13          Question 14



















14. None of the above.  The Commissioner of Public health has limited authority to take the action described in response B.  The DEP has no authority here.


Back to Question 14          Question 15




















15. Connecticut law allows a landlord to refuse to rent to an unmarried, unrelated man and woman who live together.  Believe it or not, this is the law in Connecticut.


Back to Question 15          Start Over



Find a few more Connecticut questions on the

Search by State pages at